Where can I buy wig making supplies

When I started to learn lace wig making, I had no idea where could I get the supplies for a  good price. After 2 years I know that I wasted a lot of money, but what happened happened. I could be envy and keep the “secrets” for myself, but I’m not that kind, and I also know that those who have the affinity to learn wig making and create their own wigs, they wouldn’t purchase a custom unit from me anyway, so I won’t lose potential customers with this entry, but I will help for those who just start it now.
Other wig makers said that what I do with sharing all these infos Is really bad for individual wig makers. I would only like to say that I found 85% of these website by myself with simple googleing so If I could, anybody with a computer and internet connection can do this too. I just collected the links.
These are all retail stores selling their products to anyone who’s got the money, so it’s not a secret circle for wig makers.

What a newbie  needs for sure is a canvas block head in the right size, needles for ventilation, one needle holder at least, lace ( or something lace-like to practice), hair and a bunch of ball head pins. There are also many other stuff what a wigmaker needs or what would make everything easier, but for learning, these things are enough. With these you can decide rather or not you want to learn the whole process.

For beginners, korean lace is the best type because it’s hard to rip. You can buy some through this link

 

The next main thing what you will need is a drawing pad/mat/card. This tool helps to keep the loose hair together while you just pick out a few strands.
For cap building you will need clear nylon thread, a sewing needle and if you want you can use gallons (tightly woven ribbon) for seaming the edges of the cap.
For blending different colors of hair or to get out the short waste hairs of  a bundle, you will need a hackle. It’s a tool with very sharp spikes. It’s quite expensive.
For comfortable work, you can use a wig block holder tripod or table block holder, but some wig maker (like me) prefer to hold the block in its lap or on a pillow.

For basic wig making, these tools are enough. There are other things for professionals to make the wig better, but i don’t want to make this entry too long. I also want to explain the terms, tools and techniques in an other post.

Ok. So buying tools and materials is the cheapest from China.
The cheapest store I know is Amazing hair store. They have synthetic swiss lace at the lowest price in different colors, the  cheapest drawing card, good holders, needles, siccors, canvas head(only medium size), block holders in many type and even monofilament for mono tops which is rare on the market. The only problem with them that the shipping takes a lot of time, but they don’t charge a lot for regular airmail, only the express shipping is expensive. If you’re on a budget, you need this seller. (anyway, they are up on eBay, but the fleshtone lace only available in the online store, and a US seller sell their lace for double price and the size is half, so beware)

HPIM1051
Hugo Royers store is a UK located online shop for mostly theatrical wig makers, but a lot of stuff is useable for everyday wigs. They have blocks in every size (wooden and canvas), good asian needles, regular tools for regular price. They have a lot of materials for cap building. Be careful with the laces. Film lace is too soft and fragile for everyday wearing.  2905 or 2906 stage laces are strong and durable but they are fraying as well, so if you want to cut the excess lace, you should choose something else. Don’t buy german needles from them because their german needle is so thick that it can’t be pushed through the small holes.
They have 2 shipping options. Cheap airmail or courier shipping. Unfortunately EU customers has to pay 19% selling tax. You CAN’T pay via paypal
Banbury Postiche sell the same things at same price, but the shipping more expensive because they only offer first class mail for domestic delivery. They have the 19% VAT as well I bought canvas head from the once. It’s asymmetrical but useable.

Atelier Bassi is ridiculously expensive, but they sell german quality supplies.  Once I bought lace from them and it was tulle what’s fraying so I couldn’t use it for everyday wigs. It’s mostly for  swiss theatrical wigmakers, no one else. Their shipping is way too expensive too. Simple, not registered airmail for a weightless tulle is about 20-25$

His and Her hair is one of the best suppliers in US. They are not cheap, but trusted. Shipping is expensive for international buyers. They have very good laces, canvas heads, wig bases, hairs, tools, starter kits and DVD-s for learning.

MHRW International has a few tools for wig making but everything is very expensive

Amid Beauty is an american company. They sell many type of laces but  bad quality as I heard. Once I ordered a few things from them. After a few weeks they sent back my money and said that they can’t send me the stuff. I won’t order from them.

Alcone company is quite expensive, but surprisingly the lace and canvas heads are relatively cheap. Also the shipping price is not that insane as other US seller’s

Wig and hairpiece supply: cheap canvas heads, and other stuff for wig making. They are based in the US. They have a cataloge with all their supplies. Not everything is up on the site.

Stylish Lace Wigs sells some good lace for a good price. Located in UK, the shipping is fast worldwide and you can pay with paypal. Everything else they offer is avarage for me. (similar lace is available fro lower price on eBay.co.uk. Link down below)

DSCN0138

Fisbach + Miller is a high quality German wig making supplier (they have stretch lace), but they seem to only sell for professionals. You can contact them through the website in e-mail and they decide that you worth to answer or not. (check the spams)  Many wigmaker said that they didn’t get respond. I contacted them, they didn’t respond, but 4 days later I got their catalog and pricelist in the mail, so I know ther item codes and prices so I can order but I don’t plan it now cause they are too expensive for me. Anyway, they have high quality laces. Lili Seymour showed in her video them and she said one of them is her best lace and she use it. She didn’t tell the name of the company, just “german company” but there is the name on the box she showed. If you interested in something’s price, let me know and I tell you.

Update:

I almost forgot Amarie’s store from Amarie full lace wigs. She’s a custom wigmaker in Minnesota who also sells laces, canvas heads , starter kit and DVD to learn. I only tried her swiss lace and to be honest, it’ not the best i’ve ever had. It’s not as stiff as I like and only invisible if it’s glued down with liquid adhesive (what I don’t do), so it’s not for everyone. But it’s not fraying, very durable and dyeable.

DSCN0135

Canvas heads are available at these sites:

http://playwithhair.com.au/sepia-canvas-head-pink-floral.html

http://www.williamcollierdesign.com/store/product-detail.cfm?ItemID=50&CategoryID=10&SubCatID=0

http://www.wilshirewigs.com/search.php?Query=canvas&k=S

Some supplier from Germany. Somebody from Spain showed me them. It seems they are reselling Fischback + Miller’s stuff but I’m not sure.

http://shop.kerling.de/index.php?cPath=16

http://www.brennig.at/onlineshop/index.php?page=categorie&cat=60&xaf26a=29a1a5e5cf8cdca4c502bc545bcfef36

http://www.jantscha.com/haarboutique/perueckenmaterial-u-schulbedarf/diverses/?offset=9&sort=0

http://www.blond-braun.at/blondbraunshop/index.php?cPath=516_529_536&osCsid=a971e8e897497f83005542e4acb8a328

http://www.friseurversand.com/friseurbedarf_shop/index.php/friseurzubehoer-schulbedarf-c-346_27

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Where can I buy wig making supplies

  1. Thanks for all this information.. i don’t have experience with Amid beauty, was thinking about ordering from them, but now i won’t. fishbach/miller has the frame and needles and silk material used for making silk tops, i was thinking of ordering that and giving it a try, what do you think about silk tops?

    • I think a silk top is only worth the price or the time, if you make the wig from something very high quality hair what you can wear for a long time and if the hair is dark. With a light regular remy hair, it’s totally unnecessary.
      Silk top always make the hair bulky (you can’t lay it down flat) the turnback sticking out more and the strands fall forward. So maybe you won’t see knots and the scalp will be natural but it’s not better than bleached knots.
      If you learn it for making money, it totally worth it because lot of women like the look of silk top. Anyway, i’m not into it.

      • Yes, i’m thinking about learning, because i do a lot of sew-in weaves and have been experimenting with different kinds of closures for the top so none of the clients hair is out, so blending is not an issue….sometimes i think theyshould just wear wigs, thats basically all a sew-in weave is, a wig built on a persons head and sewn down….sorry i’m off topic, i know this blog is about wigs lol

      • Hi. I agree that bleach knots look good but if you are wearing a wig or a ‘topper’ and you still have your own (thin!) hair underneath then it does not matter how good you bleach the knots. All along the part the clients own hair is showing underneath. It is not natural. Then what the client has to do is wear a wig cap (you can’t if you are wearing just a top piece) or start sewing or gluing flesh like material on under the piece. And you can see the nylon pattern on wig caps if the person is sitting under a bright light. It looks like the person has a pair of panty hose on their head. Silk may be a lot of work but it’s the only natural looking thing around. Thanks for the opportunity to share:)

      • Well, I still prefer lace wigs over everything else (u-parts, silk tops, extension pieces, etc). I can’t wear wig caps underneath my wigs because my head is so sensitive that even the tension of that stocking cap causes me headache.
        I had this wig anxiety that I was afraid that people will notice I’m wearing a wig, but the truth is that most people don’t even recognize a full cap wig without any handtied area, so I’m not scared anymore. A natural looking hairline fools most of the people.

  2. I would like to thank you sooooooo much for all the information you have offered to the public. I can’t believe that most of the season wig makers have yet to offer so much guidance where one can purchase items for wig making like you have. Thank you and keep up the good work!!!

  3. Thanks for the post. Seems we have been researching the same places and come to the same conclusions.

    I have quite a bit of ventilating experience as I have been mending and customising my lace wigs for years-but now think I am ready to make my own complete wig. I have all the supplies just need some lace and some quality hair at a good price ( which seems to be the hardest to find)

    Will probably try stylish lace wigs first for the lace -thanks for advice on amazing hair store, been eyeing them for a while but was a little unsure.

    • You’re welcome! Amazinghairstore’s and stylish lace wig’s lace is much thinner and more fragile than chinese companies laces (rpg show, bestlacewigs, platinumwigs etc)

  4. Hi great post very informative. I notice your comment about the lace if i may quote you on it” Lili Seymour showed in her video them and she said one of them is her best lace and she use it. She didn’t tell the name of the company, just “german company” but there is the name on the box she showed. If you interested in something’s price, let me know and I tell you. I have been searching for some good lace It is very hard to find. My customers are wanting lace that blends with their skin tone. I am interested in the lace that Lil Seymore showed in her video. I am iterested in something pricey. look forward to your reply . Once again thank you for sharing.

    • Hi!

      They have several type of laces. Some of them is cotton, but most are nylon. Nylon is more durable but harder to dye.
      What you need is a front lace (they call it frontline tulle) but there are more choices for that as well. The front laces are not available in different colors. They are all flesh colored.

      Regular front lace price: 34 Euros, with bigger holes: 39 Euros

      There is one what called “more transparent” (compared to the others) This must be the film lace what Alexis offers for her Glamgoddess HD wigs (she uses this compani’s laces as well). price 34 Euros 100cmx60cm

      here Tis one what called “very highly tear-resistant” what’s probably stronger than the others. It’s availablein brown as well. price: 35Euros (the dark one cost 44 euros)

      There is one what is a thermo-lace which means it shrinks if you heat it up with a hot air blower (heat gun) so you don’t need to make dart’s on the foundation. (regular or fine) price: regular-44 Euros, fine 36 Euros

      The hgihly tear-resistant and the heat-sensitive one are available in “coated” version, which means they are coated industrially, so they are made even more durable. price 60 Euros

      They are available with anti-slippery coating which means tehy are not slipping on skin that much. They cost 49-53 Euros

      They have to put 19% VAT on all items so it makes eveything almost 20% pricier.

      I’m not sure which one is the lace what Lily showed in her video. It’s sure that it’s not the thermo lace and I think it’s not the film lace because that must be more fragile.

      The company has a booklet with all the lace samples, but they don’t answer to everybody. I don’t know why. They don’t accept paypal, just credit cards, money transfer and maybe western union but i’m not sure about it.
      There are smaller online stores from Germany who probably sell the same laces but they are more expensive cause they are resellers. Fisbach + Miller doesn’t really deal with individuals.

  5. Hi there! :)

    You’ve inspired me to start making wigs for myself, since I can never find a pre-made wig in the crazy colors and styles that I’d like. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to have enough money to spare on a custom done by you, because all your pictures are awesome. You’re amazingly talented.

    I had one question that I can’t seem to get the hang of yet and that’s density. Is there a general rule of thumb to go by to get a good density? When I started, I was ventilating too closely together and it was way too thick, so I tried to ease up on ventilating so closely and then it tends to look bald or patchy. It looks good when it’s sparse along the edges, but in the middle it’s a pain to go back in and add hair that’s already been ventilated around, and since i’m just starting, it’s so hard for me to judge! Any advice?

    Thanks in advance! :)

    • Hi!

      Density can be tricky. How I measure the density is the weight of the hair. A 16-20″ long wig needs 8oz (200g) of hair for normal density. Shorter wigs need less hair, longer ones need more. And of course you can make a wig thin or very thick on purpose with adding or taking hair.
      Every lace is different. Stretch lace has smaller holes so I put 2-4 hair in every 3th hole and I usually make cross knots, so they give good coverage and density without knotting into every hole.
      Regular frontlace has 24-28 hole/inch. I tie 1-2 or 2-3 hairs in everey second hole depending on the thickness I want to achive. I also use cross knots on the top close to the very front hairline.
      On the front hairline(last inch) I start to play with the density. I put 1-2 strands with double knots on every second or third hole and I only put 1 strands into every 3th or 4th hole with a single knot.
      These are not eternal rules. Drag queen wigs needs more hair all around, including the front hairline.

      Tying hair into every hole takes a lot of time and only gives good look if you put only 1 strand of hair into those holes with regular knots (not cross-knots). I don’t think it worth the energy and time because it still not look exactly like a human scalp, especially because the patter will be too artifical. People will see rows on the top of your head if you make straight parting. Bleaching knos make this look disappear because the knots cause this look.

      My best advice is making cross knots, because it gives better coverage. Chinese manufactures do this, theatrical wigmakers do this and even I do. Regular knots make the hair fall in one specific direction and it’s harder to manipulate.

      • Thanks a ton for your help! I’ll keep that in mind when doing the top of the wig I’ve been working on. Hopefully it’ll turn out all right, even though the back is way too thick.

        I’ve been using the shapeshifter from doctored locks, by the way, and you’re right – it is the best synthetic I’ve ever used. It rocks! :)

  6. Thank you so much!! I’m fresh out of cosmetology school and needed some guidance in finding materials for wig making!! A lot stylist don’t and haven’t offered this amount of information. I really appreciate it!!

  7. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you
    make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz answer back as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from.
    cheers

  8. Just finished my first wig. And it was way too thin. Had to go back and add hair to fill it in. Wish I knew about using cross stitches before I started it. I am looking for reasonably priced stretch lace though..do you have any ideas?

    • Congratulation for your first wig.
      Cross knots are great to add volume without addig extra hair to the wig. This is why chinese manufactures use it too.

      Amarie from Amarie full lace wigs has stretch lace for sale and it’s pretty cheap as I know. I’ve never purchased from her cause I found 2 yards in my local fabric store and it’s pretty much the same, just a little bit stronger. If you only want a small piece, I can sell you some.
      But if you have fabrich stores like Joann’s fabric, you should check it out first.

      This fabric is sold for dance clothes. Power mesh is also a type fo stretch lace (I tried it too) It does the work but it’s too thin in my opinion and the holes are pretty big but you can buy it for a couple $ on eBay in a lot of colors

Leave a Reply

